nostalgia

“one of the things I always pray for is the opportunity, God willing, to come at last to see you. for I long to visit you so i can share a spiritual blessing with you that will help you grow strong in the Lord. I’m eager to encourage you in your faith, but i also want to be encouraged by yours. in this way, each of us will be a blessing to the other.” romans 1: 10-12

this has been a week of nostalgia for me. part of the definition for nostalgia is “a wistful or excessively sentimental, sometimes abnormal yearning.” I can relate to this definition because it perfectly describes my feelings.

this is the first december in a few years in which I will not be going to the dominican republic, a place that stole my heart the first time I set foot out of the airport. I do feel excessively sentimental when I think about the DR. I have countless memories there.

my sometimes abnormal yearning to be in this warm and delightful country comes from experiencing things there that I still can’t quite put my finger on, things I have not experienced anywhere else in the world, things I know are from God. the church there is filled with the Holy Spirit and the lives of the members reflect this clearly. they are always serving (not on their own schedule, but when and where ever a need arises) from hearts that overflow with the joy of the Lord. they really get relational ministry.  I think about the relationships I have been able to develop there and know that God is using these people, people I now think of as family, for some great purpose for His kingdom. I am still not sure of how God will use my love for the DR or if I will ever be able to spend as much time there as I would like, but I do know that God’s sovereign plan will prevail (even if it is not how I would have planned it).  I am so thankful that He has given me the opportunity to fall in love with this country, the church there, the people, the language, the history, the culture, and the love they have for Jesus.  it has changed my life.

the pictures below don’t even begin to show the beauty of the landscape, the moments of happiness, and the times of completely uninhibited worship. I could write paragraphs upon paragraphs about each of these! most of these were snapped at a second’s notice with my iphone, but those are the best kind, right?

This entry was posted in love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to nostalgia

  1. Carlos says:

    Such great memories! Maybe you can come next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

